What happens to the user (parent/staff) account if they no longer use it?

Connected users can delete their account via their ParentMail account by following these instructions.

Alternatively, if they were removed from an Organisation (your school), have no other connections (to other schools) and have been inactive for 30 days, their account will be deleted. An inactive user account is classed as a user record which has zero connections.